Hon. Sophie Pierre

Former Chief Commissioner, British Columbia Treaty Commission
Hon. Sophie Pierre (Kootenay, Ktunaxa Nation)

Sophie Pierre is former chief commissioner of the British Columbia Treaty Commission. She was appointed in April 2009 by agreement of the governments of Canada and British Columbia and the First Nations Summit and served until 2015. Pierre served the St. Mary’s Indian Band for 30 years, 26 as elected chief, and was the administrator of the Ktunaxa/Kinbasket Tribal Council for 25 years. She also served as the tribal chair of the Ktunaxa Nation Council, chairperson of the First Nations Finance Authority, and president of St. Eugene Mission Holdings Ltd. Pierre was involved in the work of the British Columbia Claims Task Force and served as a co-chair of the First Nations Summit. She has also served on several boards and committees, including the Institute on Governance, Environmental and Aboriginal Relations Committee of the BC Hydro & Power Authority, and the First Nations Congress. Pierre was recognized with the Order of British Columbia in 2002 and the National Aboriginal Achievement Award in the business category in 2003.

During her tenure as chief commissioner, Sophie Pierre was awarded two honorary Doctorates of Law—in 2010 from the University of Canada West and in 2012 from the University of British Columbia.

Get the latest

Sign up for NNI News