

...

The Commission on Native Children would like to thank the many individuals and organizations that made its work possible. First and foremost, the Commission thanks Senators Lisa Murkowski (R, Alaska) and Heidi Heitkamp (D, North Dakota), who worked tirelessly to ensure that the Commission was created, established as an independent body, and funded appropriately. Senator Murkowski also provided critical support for an extension of the Commission's work after the COVID-19 pandemic significantly slowed its progress.

The Commission thanks the many Tribal leaders, culture bearers, community members, service providers, program staff, expert and lay witnesses, content matter experts, Native and non-Native scholars, and others who shared their ideas, passion, and commitment to Native children and youth and made the Commission's hearings, site visits, and discussions so fruitful. The broad range of perspectives and experiences presented to the Commission was impressive and greatly enriched its work.

The Commission expresses its gratitude to the Native Advisory Committee, which helped guide its work—Abby Abinanti (Yurok Tribe), Leolani Ah Quin (Native Hawaiian and Tongan), Monte Fox (Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation), Lynette Jordan (Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation and Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe), Sheena Kanott Lambert (Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians), Delia L. Ulima (Native Hawaiian), Donald Warne (Oglala Lakota Nation), Wendall Waukau (Menominee Indian Tribe), Julie Smith-Yliniemi (White Earth Nation descendant), and Marilyn Zimmerman (Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes)—and recognizes the additional gifts of time contributed by those Native Advisory Committee members who participated in the Commission's working groups.

The Commission thanks the Federal detailees who supported the work—Moushumi Beltangady from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Eileen Garry from the U.S. Department of Justice, Regina Gilbert (Hopi Tribe) from the U.S. Department of the Interior, Ron Lessard (Mohawk) from the U.S. Department of Education, and Sarah Tillman (Ponca Tribe of Oklahoma) from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Commission also thanks: the other U.S. Department of the Interior staff—Annette Romero (Pueblo of Laguna) and Tiffany Taylor—who supported the Commission's financial and travel management needs; staff and affiliates of Kearns and West—Collin Buchanan, Chelsea Cullen, Caisey Hoffman, Stacy Leeds (Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma), and Briana Moseley-who provided vital technical, conferencing, and facilitation support; staff and affiliates of the Native Nations Institute-Stephen Cornell, Danielle Hiraldo (Lumbee Tribe), Kyra James (Navajo Nation), Mary Beth Jäger (Citizen Potawatomi Nation), Amy Jorgensen, Amy Besaw Medford (Brothertown Indian Nation), Angelica Santiago-Gonzalez, and Rae Soobratty—for expert technical assistance ranging from working group organization, research assistance, and report drafting to website support, social media management, and report design; staff of Cook Inlet Tribal Council—Ann Caindec (Tlingit and Native Hawaiian), Joshua Franks (Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa), and Michelle Lohmer (Nulato Tribal Council)for administrative, organizational, and other support that kept the work of the Commission moving forward; and the many individuals and organizations—including Abby Abinanti (Yurok Tribe), Lynette Jordan (Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation and Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe), Delia Ulima (Native Hawaiian), and Marilyn Zimmerman (Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes); staff of California Tribal College, Daybreak Star Indian Cultural Center, Intertribal Council of Arizona, First Americans Museum, Southcentral Foundation, United South and Eastern Tribes, and United Tribes Technical College; and local honor guard members—who played key roles in hosting the Commission's regional hearings.

The Commission offers special thanks to Miriam Jorgensen (Native Nations Institute) and Lisa Rieger (Cook Inlet Tribal Council) for their facilitation, research, and drafting support of the Commission's study and recommendations.